Bonanza Review

Disclosure: We are compensated in some cases for promoting advertisers on this website. To view our review and advertising policy, click here.

Bonanza is quickly becoming one of the most popular peer to peer marketplaces, rivaling websites such as eBay, Tophatter, eBid.net, and other popular only auction and marketplaces. As seems to be the business strategy with other eBay rivals, Bonanza has taken a “seller-centric” approach to building an enormous catalog of sellers worldwide. For the end user (you!), this means lots of variety in the types of items for sale in this marketplace. Much of which you probably won’t find anywhere else. Please keep in mind that Bonanza is NOT a penny auction website, but an online marketplace similar to ebay.

About Bonanza.com

  • Bonanza Address: 3131 Western Ave Ste 428, Seattle, WA 98121-1028
  • Phone number: (206) 588-5849
  • Facebook: facebook.com/BonanzaMarket
  • BBB Rating: A+

Editor’s Bonanza Review

Bonanza is just like eBay, except a much newer option born with a goal of creating a marketplace where anyone can sell and items seem a bit more unique. If eBay and Etsy were to get married and make a baby, Bonanza would be the result. In short, Bonanza is an online marketplace featuring tens-of-thousands of sellers from around the world. The website offers both new and used products in every category. As a buyer, you’re given the chance to purchase both unique and run-of-the-mill items. As a seller, it’s basically the same as eBay except without as many seller fees.

Please note that Bonanza.com is NOT a penny auction. That’s right, NOT a penny auction. 

Bonanza Marketplace Features

Bonanza.com differs from penny auction websites in a few ways:

  • Non-Auction Format: Bonanza is not an auction website, it’s a marketplace where you do not compete (bid) for an item.
  • Free to participate: All auctions are free to participate in. The consumer only pays when she/he wants to buy an item.
  • Private Sellers: Products sold on Bonanza are done so by other vendors. So there are basically thousands of vendors auctioning products at all times.
  • High Volume: At a glance, there seems to be about 250,000 items for sale across almost every shopping category.

Common Bonanza Items

  • New items
  • Used items
  • Fashion (cloths, jewelry, hats, winter cloths, etc.)
  • Electronics (consumer electronics, home made electronics, name brand electronics)
  • Home goods (home decor, gardening, etc.)
  • Collectibles (sports memorabilia, etc.)
  • Antiques
  • Pet supplies
  • Really, everything else (look now)

Bonanza Shopping Tips

  • Watch the seller: Bonanza is not a retail company. They are a website. All items for sale on Bonanza.com are sold by third party sellers. Some are great, some are not. Ready seller reviews (link to seller reviews on each auction page) BEFORE buying.
  • Shipping cost: Items come from all over the World and shipping can be expensive. Again, look for the shipping costs charged by sellers on each product page.
  • Shipping time: Same as above, items shipping across the World will take time (weeks) to arrive.

Bonanza Marketplace Shipping and Fees

Bonanza sellers are responsible for setting their own shipping fees. It’s important that you the buyer review the shipping costs and time for each item that you are puchasing. We cannot stress this enough. The most common bad review of the Bonanza website is complaints about shipping. Don’t buy from sellers if you aren’t okay with the shipping cost or time!

Is Bonanza a scam?

We don’t think so. Bonanza is an online marketplace full of great and terrible sellers. Read seller reviews, buy what you like.  The simple way to avoid feeling taken.

Bonanza Pros and Cons

  • Bonanza Pros: Free to shop, huge wide selection of products, some unique stuff to buy.
  • Bonanza Cons: Shipping can be timely and expensive, seller reputations vary greatly but are easy to see on the website.

 

Try Bonanza.com Free

 

Bonanza.com FAQs

Here are some of the most commonly asked questions about the website, Bonanza.

Does Bonanza offer a wishlist? 2018-03-16T13:09:28+00:00
Disclosure: We are compensated in some cases for promoting advertisers on this website. To view our review and advertising policy, click here.

Yes, instead of ‘adding to cart’, Bonanza shoppers can add to ‘wishlist’ for later purchase.

Bonanza Customer Support Phone Number 2018-03-05T15:35:40+00:00
Disclosure: We are compensated in some cases for promoting advertisers on this website. To view our review and advertising policy, click here.

Bonanza requires users to log-in and upgrade their account to access their official customer support line. For most of us, support is only available via the support portal.

What is a Top-Rated Seller on Bonanza 2018-03-05T15:30:51+00:00
Disclosure: We are compensated in some cases for promoting advertisers on this website. To view our review and advertising policy, click here.

On Bananza, a top-rated seller is one who essentially has a great reputation. We recommend only working with top rated sellers if you want to be on the safe side in terms of product quality and vendor reliability. Top Rated Sellers:

  • Have 98%positive feedback
  • Have been selling on Bonanza for 90+ days
  • Have sold at least $250 in goods with 25+ transactions
  • Have a refund rate of less than 20%

Look for the following logo on auction pages to ensure that the seller has the ‘Top Rated’ designation.

 

Does Bonanza Have a Mobile App? 2018-03-05T15:20:33+00:00
Disclosure: We are compensated in some cases for promoting advertisers on this website. To view our review and advertising policy, click here.

Yes, Bonanza.com offers a shopping app which is available on both the itunes and Android stores. You can shop either online or via the Bonanza mobile app.

 

Subscribe Free

Free Bonanza Shopping Guide

Get our free 5-part series on shopping on Bonanza.com and the other auction websites!

No SPAM, unsubscribe at any time.

Subscribe Free

FREE AUCTIONS & E-COMMERCE COMPARISON TABLE

WebsiteEditor's RatingTypeBest Features
Review Coming SoonE-commerceHuge online marketplace, many perks with prime membership including 2-day free shipping
Go To Amazon
@amazon
Read ReviewPenny AuctionMany auctions available from TV's to home appliances, featuring beginner auctions, free shipping, good reputation.
Go To DealDash
@dealdash
Read ReviewFree AuctionLargest marketplace to find online auctions, with many categories, offers buy it now and promotions
Go To eBay
@ebay
Read ReviewFree Auction,
E-commerce
Offers products across all categories, similar to eBay, less expensive for sellers so slightly lower prices.
Go To Bonanza
@bonanza
Read ReviewPenny AuctionAlways free shipping. You can earn free bids by referring friends and family.
Go To CentBids
@centbids
Read ReviewPaid AuctionGold auctions free bids with seat auctions starting at $1,  “Take My Profits” option to cash out.
Go To Gold IQ
@goldiq
Read ReviewFree AuctionMany auctions are available in all categories, unique product offering.

Go To eBid.com

@ebid
Read ReviewFree Auction,
E-commerce
Offers vacation & travel auctions, excellent Deal of the Day section with unique buy it now offers.
Go To uBid.com
@ubid
Read ReviewFree AuctionSteal of the Day section, various categories with authentic police seized, stolen, abandoned and surplus goods.
Go To PropertyRoom
@propertyroom
Read ReviewPenny AuctionSpecial events to win extra bids, prizes, or other incentives, shipping is free, refer-a-friend program to earn free bids.
Go To OrangeBidz
@orangebidz
Read ReviewPenny Auction, 
E-commerce
Free shipping on almost everything, auctions available in many categories laptops and tablets to purses and jewelry.
Go To Quibids
@quibids
Read ReviewFree Auction,
E-commerce
Various product categories from jewelry to electronics featuring high paced auctions, with Buy It Now options.
Go To TopHatter
@tophatter
Read ReviewPenny Auction, 
E-commerce
Primabids store where you can buy it now, winners can re-sell products which they’ve won, gift cards, games, and many other products.
Go To PrimaBids
@primabids
Read ReviewPenny AuctionBeginner Auctions, buy it auctions, offers auctions in many categories and discounts for new bidders.
Go To WellBid
@wellbid
Read ReviewFree AuctionOffers government Auction information for thousands of yearly government auctions, bank foreclosure, car, truck, and other automobile auctions
Go To PoliceAuctions
@policeauctions

Bonanza Shopper Ratings and Reviews

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Bonanza
Average rating:  
 56 reviews
by Carrie on Bonanza
Scam

This is a horrible website. I was searching for an item and found it on this website. I went in to purchase it and received a message that the seller has to "approve" my purchase. I wait 5 days and the seller does not respond. I send an email asking about my purchase and immediately receive an email that the seller decided not to sell to me. I have impeccable credit. WTH??

Dont waste your time with the scam website.

Now I cannot delete my profile. I guess I have to file a complaint against them.

by Johnny on Bonanza
I feel so confused about what happened.

I feel so confused about what happened. After over five (5) years of being on Bonanza our company’s account was simply deleted.



As with any other day I log into the Bonanza account to process the customer orders that was received. Well I find that on May 29, 2019 I go to log into the account to process customer orders and found that I was unable to log-in.



At first, I thought Bonanza was updating their website, so I contacted Bonanza and asked them what was going on? They responded with this:



“Judy (Bonanza)



May 29, 12:39 PM PDT



Hello,



Thank you for contacting us. Our system is preventing us from opening an account on Bonanza for you at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience. It is our priority to keep Bonanza the safest possible marketplace for our buyers and sellers to use. Due to security restrictions, our team is unable to provide further details involved with this action.



Fortunately, we are able to recommend a few great alternatives such as ioffer.com or ecrater.com, both of which have strong monthly traffic and a good base of buyers and sellers. eBid.net is a good site for those who wish to deal in the auction format.



If you have any further questions, please see our terms of service, which provide complete details about our user policies, including our right to suspend an account at any time.

http://www.bonanza.com/site_help/user_agreement



Thank you for your interest in Bonanza and we sincerely apologize again for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!”



I am sitting here dumbfounded, scratching my head and can’t help but wonder what happened???



Then it dawned on me that this was a response to me asking Bonanza to honor their gift card which a customer used to purchase an item from our store.



A customer purchased an item from our store and used a $20 Bonanza gift card and we did not receive the funds from the gift card so I contacted support with this email:



“Date: Tue, May 28, 2019 12:30 am



We sold an item on Bonanza and the customer used a $20 gift card which is fine, but we see that we have not received payment from the gift card.



Payment has been received from the customer but we are not able to process the order without receiving payment from the Bonanza gift card. The note on the gift card says “The payment from Bonanza will arrive via PayPal immediately after the order is complete” The customer placed the order so the order is completed, now we need to process the order.



Can you please look into this so we can get this order shipped out fast?



Best regards”



I then received this email:



“Judy, May 28, 9:29 AM PDT



Good Day,



Thank you for emailing and letting us know. Let me check on that for

you.



Let us know if you have any other questions.



Regards

Judy”



I responded with:



“Admin, May 28, 2:21 PM PDT



Thank you for looking into this.



I have checked and see the gift card payment still has not been received from Bonanza.



We are unable to ship out this order to the customer until payment has

been received.



Best regards”



After this email Judy told me the payment would be posted tomorrow of which it did not post and so we were unable to fulfill the order due to payment issues from Bonanza. We had no choice but to issue the customer a full refund of the payment that we had received. Being that we did not receive the $20.00 from the Bonanza gift card the customer sent us an email asking us where the funds were for the Bonanza gift card and we explained the situation and asked them to contact Bonanza for a refund as they rightfully deserved. We do not have any information on if Bonanza refunded the customer but we assume not.



I noticed that I was unable to log into the account so I contacted Judy again with this email:



“Admin, May 29, 11:38 AM PDT



Thank you for taking care of this issue but it looks like I have another issue.



For some reason I cannot log into my Bonanza account now. When I do log into my account, I receive the message “Just letting you know... Logout complete.”



I am not sure if Bonanza is updating the site or what.



I appreciate you looking into this.



Best regards,”



After this email Judy sent me the email as shown in the beginning of this review, telling me pretty much to go do business on another marketplace.



I understand that Bonanza has a right to tell a company they cannot do business with them anymore but this is seriously a petty reason to do so.



We have been doing business on Bonanza for over five (5) years with many happy customers and to see them throw us away like this just seems really wrong.



I have contacted Bonanza asking them why they have decided to prevent us from selling on their marketplace and after not receiving any response for days the company filed a complaint on the Better Business Bureau website and finally received a response which stated that the account was a high security risk and they could not give us any information about it. This response left us with more questions but they closed the complaint as answered and we were not able to get any further response.



We are thinking that they just gave us that response even if it did not pertain to our account it was just a response that they give to any account owner that they decide they don’t like and so they simply delete and ignore.



There has to be a reasonable explanation because the idea of them closing our account over asking them to honor their gift card is unfathomable.



What about all of the orders from our customers? Is Bonanza going to contact our customers to let them know what is going on with their orders? Does Bonanza really not care if people purchase from their site and not get their orders fulfilled? This is terrible.



There is no phone number that works to call the company, even the phone number on the Better Business Bureau website is not operational.



If I hear any updates, I will update this review, but jeez our company feels pretty unimportant the way Bonanza has treated us after five (5) years and earning so many of their badges on our profile.

by Samantha on Bonanza
Ban with no reason?

I was always iffy about bonanza due to the fairly outrageous fees but on top of all that I got my account banned somehow (I literally received 0 contact) and they absolutely refuse to acknowledge me though I've tried multiple times to contact. Very poor way to do business in my opinion.

by Larry on Bonanza
Impossible

Horrible, this site and the hidden locations of sellers sucks. My order was made 3 weeks ago and hasn't been shipped yet. Sent email to seller after week. Second email this week was ignored. Seems like an absolute scam site to me. Impossible to work this website. I hate bonanza.

by Kathleen Kokot on Bonanza
Fraud

I would give them zero stars if I could. They took my money, but never delivered the product. Now they are doing nothing to help me obtain a refund. Only crooks take your money. Warning, stay away!!!

by Carlos on Bonanza
RIP Off!!!

Yes like many other users, they do not help you when you dont get and item paid for.Do not use this site unless your are alright with losing your money.

by John J Norman on Bonanza
Rip Off!!!

They will not post a notice on their website that if you have to return your purchase or want a refund that you have to deal directly with the manufacturer/seller. They will not get involved other than to tell you contact PayPal or your bank to try to recover the money for the purchase as many of their seller's are overseas. In my case I bought shoes hand made in Pakistan which I was unaware of where they were being made and shipped from. The mailbox place (the guy is Pakistani) said the manufacturer will never see them as they will steal them in customs plus I will get a bill from the manufacturer as they will send the empty box on to them and say they don't know what happened to the content? It is not like ebay where you return them to ebay and their customer rep deals with you directly on any problem you have. So stay away from this site if you want to lose your money for the goods and the cost of shipping back, in this case if was $100 and another $40 or so for customs in Pakistan! Big time rip off!!!!

by Lioness Light on Bonanza
Bonanza Site Promotes THEFT!

I purchased a product from TranD21, who replied immediately that the "in stock" item would be shipped within 24 hours. A week later, still nothing. I reached out through the "help" button, and received a reply to file a claim through PayPal, whom does not deal with disputes. The company should be put out of business for fraudulent practices. Item was never sent and never received. Bonanza Promotes Theft!

by Jay on Bonanza
Great Alternative Site to the other auction place.

I sold on Bonanza for many years and also purchased items on there too. It is a great alternative site to the other well known site. The owners and workers on the site are always more than willing to help if there are questions or issues. There are always bad apples in a box, same with selling sites. Check reviews, profiles, etc. If something seems too good to be true, it probably is.

by Merchant Werks on Bonanza
Worst Sellers Site

Bonanza advertises itself as a platform for sellers. The problem is you are paying anywhere from 10-30% JUST to place you item here. THEN you turn around and have to advertise and raise awareness that your item is even there. So please tell me, what the hell are you paying for? Why would you ever consider using this site when you can just go to Ebay and shoppers come to YOU, not the other way around. I placed multiple items on this site over the last month and haven't received a single VIEW. I post on Ebay, immediatey have 40 views and 7 bids on my item. SCAM!

Page 1 of 6:
«
 
 
1
2
3
 
»
 
Visit Bonanza.com

5 Comments

  1. Nidzter April 22, 2018 at 8:45 pm - Reply

    I attempted to place an order and right away the seller started cursing at me. I thought it was wierd and reported them to Bananza. Bonanza apologized and told me they gave the seller a warning. Theb I received another email talking about gentals and my mother. I reported that to Bonanza but they said supposedly it was sent before the warning but it wasnt. I decided not to but from here anymore. I dont trust them.

  2. Ainokea May 16, 2018 at 5:44 pm - Reply

    Watch out for those China sellers but you get what you pay for.

  3. Michael Moore June 22, 2018 at 11:46 pm - Reply

    You people sound very immature.

  4. Don Weeks January 28, 2019 at 6:21 pm - Reply

    I purchased an item more than 10 days ago with 5 day postage and cannot get the seller to send me the item, refund my money nor log onto Bonanza’s site-it says my email is already taken. I’ve used this one for years. Crappy.
    Dib

  5. John May 12, 2019 at 4:44 am - Reply

    Rip Off!!! I didn’t get the item I purchased month ago.

Leave A Comment